sveriges flagga, Vacations with more room.   ad





Introduction Islands

The nine islands are divided into three groups:
The Eastern Group (Grupo Oriental) of São Miguel and Santa Maria
The Central Group (Grupo Central) of Terceira, Graciosa, São Jorge, Pico and Faial
The Western Group (Grupo Ocidental) of Flores and Corvo.


azores location

Azores Maps

São Miguel is the largest island in size and Corvo the smallest having only 4 square miles of surface. Sao Miguel, Sao Jorge, and Pico are the longest islands with an average length of about 35 miles. Most of the islands are from 7 to 10 miles wide. 

The islands are irregular in shape with most of the land sloping upward towards the volcanic peaks. The sea coast has cliffs that are up to several hundred feet high. The lower shorelines have coves that serve as harbors. Horta on the island of Faial has the best natural harbor of the islands.

Azores Map 

map azores

© Azoresweb 2006